As MarketWatch explains, you can’t outright delete a Twitter account: You first have to deactivate it. If you don’t log into your account at any point during the 30-day deactivation period, Twitter will then delete it for good. After 30 days of inactivity, Twitter will permanently delete your account and all the data that goes with it.