When erasing your iPhone, you'll come across a step asking if you want to create a backup or skip it. But before you tap that Skip Backup button, it's worth considering your situation. If you are switching to a new iPhone and have already transferred your data to it from the old iPhone, then yes, it's probably safe to skip the backup since the data already exists in the new iPhone. If you're backing up on your iPhone, it will go to iCloud, so ensure your phone is connected to a stable Wi-Fi network. If you're creating the backup on a computer, you will need a compatible USB cable for your iPhone.