None
EN
Claude Opus 5 mistakenly deletes dev’s entire profile directory during routine backup, responds with 'Sorry, typo' — AI tool mistakes user's home directory as temporary backup, proceeds to wipe everything to undo the error
['Jowi Morales', 'Contributing Writer', 'Layer Van-Ds .Vds-Author Font-Size Var --Text-Base', 'Font-Size Var --Vds-Author-Font-Size', 'Var --Text-Base', 'Line-Height Var --Text-Base--Line-Height', 'Line-Height Var --Vds-Author-Line-Height', 'Var --Text-Base--Line-Height', 'Letter-Spacing Var --Tracking-Normal', 'Letter-Spacing Var --Vds-Author-Letter-Spacing']
Latest from Tom's Hardware
A developer posted on the r/ClaudeCode subreddit a major error that their AI tool executed, which resulted in the deletion of their entire drive.
While the AI proceeded with the task, it thought that it had created the backup in the wrong directory and then proceeded to run an “rm -rf” command on the supposed backup.
So, when its expectations did not match, the tool decided to run the rm -rf “/c/Users/harih/” command, proceeding to clear every file and folder in the user’s profile.
Instead, it created the backup in the wrong directory and then proceeded to "rm -rf" my entire drive,” u/Ecstatic-Big5126 wrote.
While the AI tool going out of bounds is the primary reason for these errors, the user is also partly to blame for thinking that it can fully understand what they want it to do.