To use the feature, users have to record a short selfie video while mimicking guided head movements. The recording captures different angles of the user's face and is securely stored in their Google Account with their consent. If they later lose access to their account, they can record another selfie video. Google then compares this new recording with the one it has on file to verify identity before granting access.